Nursing School Friendships

biggirlpanties One of my favorite sayings is, “Put on your big girl panties and deal with it.” I just don’t like when I have to take my own advice. I’ve met so many wonderful people since I started nursing school. Some have graduated and moved onto their nursing careers and they have remained my friends and encourage me constantly. Some are in my class and we have been in the trenches together since the very beginning. Just like many of us nursing students have experienced, I met my ‘nursing BFF’. We became study partners, lecture partners, ladies who lunch, friends outside of school, the whole nine yards. She was the ‘Meredith to my Christina.’ Then recently, we had a falling out. The details aren’t important. What is important, is that I was standing up for myself and my honest feelings. In the end, we ‘agreed to disagree’ and move on.

So why blog about it? Let it go!

Well, that’s the thing. This is a nursing school classmate. I’m in clinical this semester with this person. I’m in class with this person for about a year longer. It’s a real test of being able to but on your big girl panties and deal with uncomfortable adult bullshit. Yes, I care about this person. Yes, it sucks losing a friend. Someone you talk to multiple times per day. Someone you confide in and ‘talk shop’ with. But, nothing I can do about it. I tried making it right without compromising my integrity. I said I valued our friendship. Apparently it was’t reciprocated. So, I’m looking at it like it’s good practice for my nursing career. I’m going to meet people I don’t get along with. I’m going to have to find a way to work with them and deliver seamless patient care. I’m a leader in the competitive community of nursing school. This is bound to happen, right?

Nursing school hardens you… prepares you for the real world of nursing. Yes, it takes incredible empathy, integrity, and compassion to be a nurse. But what they don’t tell you about is having to learn to harden your heart or hide your emotion from displaying it in public.

Yes, it sucks. Your nursing school BFF is supposed to be a friend for life… not a learning experience. Que sera, sera. Right?

 

Leave a Reply

