What’s with the Veruca Salt reference?

First of all, HI! I’m a 39-year old nursing student from Northern California. For the past 5 years, I’ve been learning the virtues of patience and understanding by doing two things: becoming a stepmom and applying for nursing school.

 

Veruca_SnawzberriesSo, what’s with Veruca Salt? Well, you’d have to have seen the original ‘Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory’ with Gene Wilder. Veruca is one of the children who find a Golden Ticket wrapped in a Wonka Chocolate bar and wins a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to tour a magical chocolate factory. Veruca is a spoiled brat with serious entitlement syndrome who doesn’t have much in the way of manners. She demands what she wants and her pushover parents give it to her.  Honestly, if you don’t know who she is… give this video a watch.

Aaaannnd…what does that have to do with me?

Kathy_ParisolWhen I was young (okay, up until I was in my mid-twenties) my dad called me Veruca because I wanted everything NOW. I had no patience and wanted the fastest way possible to get from Point A to Point B. Oh, and I didn’t really want to work for it. Fast forward to five years ago when I met my now husband. He has two children who were 2 and 6 when I met them. They came first and I wasn’t used to that. I soon realized how special my husband and his two children had become to me. That was when my internal Veruca started to become less and less… obvious.

This blog is a culmination of the life lessons I’m learning while being a rocking stepmom and most of all, being a nursing student. I have come across some amazing life hacks for stepmoms and some even greater life hacks for nursing students; especially the ones who have a husband, kids, house, responsibilities, and stuff like that to balance with their nursing school journey.

The road to nursing school is rough… there is no Golden Ticket. But, it’s totally worth the wait. You just have to squash your Veruca Salt.

Nobody likes a bad egg.

Veruca

Leave a Reply

